Nebula dancing

The project I’m currently working on is all about going crazy on the dance floor. I absolutely love to go dancing, let loose, have a ball, go a little bit mad. People who love dancing will tell you that dancing is freeing. Dancing is like flying through space, it’s like traveling through time and being able to be a million different people. I like to go dancing in clubs because I like the coloured lights, the disco balls and the darkness. It feels intimate, and spectacular and it looks like you’ve entered another world, which is why so many people are able to let loose and forget themselves when they are in a club. It’s such a harsh contrast with the crispy bright freshness of the next morning, the return to reality.

I have started playing around with images of space and photos that I have taken on nights out, because as my tutor pointed out to me a few days ago, nightclubs can look very similar to galaxies. I think they are alike in terms of how they look, but also in what they represent : a big open space that you can float and fly through and that’s isolated from any concept of time or reality.

Leave a Reply

